The town of Consolacion was first founded in the year 1871 with a population
of 14,248 under the leadership of Juan Villamor. Before this, it was only a barrio of the Municipality of Mandaue. Its people
had to go to Mandaue to pay their taxes. They were required to tender free labor to build the church of Mandaue every Sunday
as well as other barangays. In view all of this, Juan Villamor, their leader, petition the Spanish Governor of Cebu to convert
the barrio into a town or "Pueblo". Soon their request was granted, thus a new town was formed with its first captain, Juan
Villamor. The name chosen for the new town was "Consolacion", in honor of the governor's daughter named Consolacion. This
was done as an act of gratitude to the governor for granting their petition. The site plotted for the poblacion was Garing
because most of the influencial names were from this place. But Augustin Palang and Cabeza Gregorio Besabella, who were both
from Tugbongan, suggested that their place was more preferable as it is located near the seashore thus more accesible in terms
of sea and land transportation. Still others wanted it to be Tayud. Finally, thru a compromise, it was decided to choose the
very place where it is now located which lies 13 kilometers from the capital of the province.
Liloan (Alternate spelling: Lilo-an) is a 2nd class municipality
in the province of Cebu, Philippines. According to the 2000 census, it has a population of 64,970 people in 13,381 households.
Liloan is part of a metropolitan area informally called Metro Cebu.
The Bagacay Point Lighthouse
One of the best known landmarks in Lilo-an is its historic lighthouse at Bagacay Point. The original lighthouse
was built in 1857 by the Spanish. However, the current tower was constructed in 1904 by order of William Howard Taft ,
the first Governor-General of the Philippines and later the President of the United States. The tower is 72 feet tall and
remains in active use today
Featured homes in Consolacion and